top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with Comics Creator DC Alonso


1. What connected you to comics and storytelling?


The two passions in my life are painting and literature, and what better way to combine both than comics? Comics allow you to work on an incredible amount of art in the same time that a classical painter makes a painting.


2. What is it like to work in shared/licensed content and more contain storytelling?


Since I have worked in this sector, I have been lucky enough to work with the characters that I have liked throughout my life. The first license that gave me the opportunity to work on it was my beloved Star Trek. Later I have worked on many more, like Aladdin, Avatar...or my favorite from my childhood, The Masters of the Universe.


3. Please tell us some of your best collaborations/experiences in the medium so far.


For me, the most special moment since I have worked in this sector was when I saw the first box of the Masters of the Universe with my color on the card back.


I also have a very good memory of reading a script for a Star Trek comic for the first time before starting to color the pages.


In reality, each comic that I am going to start, during the script reading part, is a super creative adventure in which I have a great time thinking about colors and how to narrate the things that happen on the pages.


4. What is next for you creatively and where can listeners learn more?


Well, the next thing I want to do is take my dusty paints and easel out of the closet. I want to see how what I have learned during these thousands of comic pages is transferred to the canvas and try to make some Mattel card back on paper with acrylic paint and oil.


If anyone wants to learn the basics of digital coloring, I have a YouTube channel where (in Spanish) I teach a little how to do it: www.youtube.com/@DCAlonso



7 views0 comments
bottom of page