top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with A.J. Hartley



1. As a literacy prof, I’m always curious about how people come to be

readers and writers. Can you share some of your journey with us?


I was always a fairly bookish kid. Perhaps if I had been a better

athlete or otherwise fit in a little better I might have found other

outlets, but reading was a sanctuary for me. I was what you would call

voracious, and since there wasn't much of what you would call true YA

lit in those days I graduated fairly quickly to adult fiction,

especially mystery and fantasy. But I remember reading Shakespeare in

high school and was a little embarrassed at how much I enjoyed it,

though it was years before I engaged that interest properly, and I came

to it at least in part through theatre. But yes, I lived in my head a

lot (still do), and that meant reading--and eventually writing. I wrote

my first novel when I was 19. It was terrible, but it was a start.


2. What is your writing process like?


Usually I create a brief outline, short story length, but not always. I

plan now more than I used to because I find it more efficient (fewer

blind alleys and genre shifts mid novel) but the plan is always a very

loose guide and there's lots of room for the story to take new shapes as

it goes. When that happens, I adjust the outline accordingly so I'm less

likely to paint myself into a corner. As for the actual writing, I

usually shoot for about 10K words a week, first draft, sometimes 15.

More than that and it gets sloppy, and I find I need time between

writing, days off, weekends, when I just have to let the next stage of

the story germinate a little. That said, I have written whole books

(albeit short ones) very quickly indeed. IMPERVIOUS was done as a first

draft in 2 weeks, but that was because I wrote it in response to a

traumatic event and had to get it out. My next book, BURNING

SHAKESPEARE, I have been fiddling with for literally quarter of a

century. I kept rethinking it, tweaking it, and eventually taking a

wrecking ball to the plot, so that there was little but the initial

premise which survived into the final draft. I try to take a break after

the first draft, forget about it, maybe work on something else, so that

when I come back to it it feels fresh and I can see it as if it were

written by someone else. That helps me see the problems and gives me a

sense of where the work needs to go, assuming it's worth anything.


3. What draws you to the genres you work in, as an author who does

some genre-crossing?


Ha. I've always been an eclectic reader, and have a wildly diverse set

of interests and hobbies, so it makes sense to me that I write in

different genres and for different age groups. It's not a very smart

business model, because my readers won't always follow me from thriller

to fantasy to scifi or YA. But it's what I have. I get bored easily, or

maybe restless is a better word. An idea will come to me and suddenly

there's a story I want to explore that may be a thousand miles from what

I wrote last. I think my stories have things in common, though,

regardless of the genre: a core mystery, a sense of adventure, things

about what drives people, what they love, what they miss. My books look

very different, but I suspect that at their hearts they are actually

quite similar.


4. Please tell us where we can find out more about your work.


My website is www.ajhartley.net. You'll find links to my various books

there, my crazy YouTube channel (more hybrid randomness

books are probably easiest to find on Amazon, though most will be

available from physical bookstores as well, and I have a decent amount

up on Audible too.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page