top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with Ariel Bordeaux




1. Please tell us about your path to comics.


I got hooked on underground and alternative comics in high school, and in art school although I didn't quite make comics, most of what I did was like comics in some way. After graduating from art school comics became something I could do cheaply and easily without access to equipment like the ceramics or film studios. I started making minicomics and finding other artists to send my comics to through comics with letters and review pages, like Peter Bagge's Hate.

2. What do comics allow you to do as a storyteller?


Comics allow me to put my memories, anxieties, deep thoughts and whatever into a relatively easy to disseminate form where other people can read them and tell me I'm not alone. I don't exactly think of myself as a storyteller - maybe a story cleaner or something. I'm trying to take the junk from my brain - the stories my brain is constantly churning out about what a worthless, terrible person I am - and shine it up into something meaningful or good.

3. Where can we find out more about your work?

My website is https://www.arielbcomics.com/, and I'm @arielbordeaux on Instagram.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page