top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with artist Adam Riches




1. What drew you to comics initially?


Growing up in the ‘90s, and particularly in the early ‘90s, when I was very young and first discovered comics, they were ubiquitous. So it’s almost hard to say what it was exactly that very first drew me to them, because they were almost inescapable. You could easily find comics at every grocery store, gas station, pharmacy, and big box retailer. All my friends collected comics, and funny enough, despite all the blockbuster comic movies and TV shows we have today, the marketing for the actual books was much better back then, and it all fed into itself. So I watched Batman TAS, X-Men TAS, I played the video games, I ate the breakfast cereal, I collected the figures and trading cards, I wore the clothes, read Wizard magazine, etc. etc. but it all ultimately revolved around the comics.

2. Please tell us about the universe work you have done for Boom and IDW.


I’ve done quite a bit of work for both companies, but more for IDW. For BOOM! I did a 25-issue full series run of action figure variant covers on their WWE comic, and a cover for Firefly #1 a few years back. IDW is really the company that first broke me into comics in a big way, and I’ve illustrated covers for a wide variety of their titles, especially things set in the G.I. Joe universe. Some of the books I’ve worked on there include… G.I. Joe A Real American Hero, Micronauts, Revolution, Stretch Armstrong, the Star Trek/Green Lantern crossover, Back To The Future, Transformers, etc.



3. Who are the artists who have inspired you?

My artistic “Mount Rushmore” has pretty much always been Drew Struzan, Todd McFarlane, Peter Laird, and Kevin Eastman.

Of course, I’m constantly inspired by new artists, but those four are the guys who really first unlocked my imagination in a big way, and who I’ve tried to model certain aspects of my career after. Especially as I’ve gotten the privilege to spend time with some of them, I respect them on a whole different level now, as really good people, as much if not more so, than as just artists.




4. What titles/characters would you like to tackle?


I’ve got an X-Men story I’m dying to write and draw someday, ditto for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I’d also really love to tackle some Spawn covers.


5. Where can we find out more about your work?


You can keep up with me and my work at:

AdamRiches.com

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page