top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with artist Chris Faccone



What inspires you to create?


Other people's creations inspire me to create. Every morning, the first thing I do when I wake up is hunt for inspiration on Instagram. I screenshot all the art I find, and file it on Pinterest so I can easily find it again when I need to tap into that energy again. Everything from layouts to certain hatching technics. Whatever catches my eye. These images usually spark some sort of inspiration for creation. Also, my own creations tell me ideas to create. I’ll draw a character and, while coloring it, a stream of ideas will flood my brain. Another source of inspiration is the need to become calm and escape from the day or reality of life. Creating is like meditation for me. Sometimes I just need to not think about anything but the lines I’m putting down on the paper.


Please tell us about your creative process.


For a long time, I would do a rough sketch with a pencil then scan it into photoshop and change the lines to blue. I would then print it out lightly and ink right over it. Scan it again to color it in photoshop. Today, for the majority of the time, I just draw straight up in pen and skip the pencil. Something dies in my art if there are too many steps. I love the energy of a rough sketch so if I just draw in pen and that's it. I get to keep my lines alive and not lose any kinetic energy in the process.






Please tell us about your work for Mattel, and anything else you’d like to share about.


My work for Mattel was through Matty collector but that was short-lived because they closed that department but the brand manager at the time had me drawing T-shirt designs, and had planned to do a vintage style series with my art. We only got to release the comic con merch. I was offered to work on the inmaginx figures but I turned it down because of the contract.


Where can we find out more about your work?


I keep it simple. You wanna see my work? follow me on Instagram. That's my home @savageconquest

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page