top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with artist Le Beau Underwood






1. What initially drew you to comics?


I have had a love for comics since I was a small child and always had a dream of becoming a professional comic book artist.





2. Please tell us about your creative process.


When I receive pencils for any assignment, I will first review them thoroughly, and approach each penciler with the mindset of playing to his/her strengths while also adding my touch. If possible, I will contact the penciler and ask him/her how would they prefer their work inked, as I strongly believe that by doing so, we both can produce the best artwork possible. I also consider the best tools to use in order to do so (i.e., brush, nibs, technical pens, etc.). If I am working over pencil scans, I print out a hi-resolution scan in blue line onto my art board and proceed to the inking stage.





3. Please tell us more about DC vs Vampires, Wolverine: Patch, and any other work you'd like to share about.


DC VS Vampires: Killers #1 is a one shot comic that I inked over penciler Mike Bowden that ties into the current DC VS Vampires storyline that is currently running throughout DC titles. Wolverine: Patch is a 5 issue mini-series published by Marvel and written by the legendary (and recent Hall of Fame Eisner Award inductee) Larry Hama. I inked over penciler Andrea Di Vito, with whom I have previously worked with on The Union and Darkhawk for Marvel. Sebastian Cheng provided his magnificent colors as well.




4. Where can we find more information about your work?


I have a professional page on Facebook where I showcase most of my work on here: https://www.facebook.com/lebeauinker/ . You can also access my work by doing a Google search for my name.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page