top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with author and artist Ethan Young


1. What initially drew you to comics?


As a kid, I loved drawing and took to it because my older brother also had an affinity for it, and I copied a lot of what he did. I've never been an avid prose reader, so the visual language of comics spoke to me from a very young age. Throughout elementary school, I started toying around with writing my own stories, and being a comic creator was a very laser-focused goal for me at that point.

2. Please tell us about your creative process.

I am a very visual thinker, so when I come up with a story, I don't separate the process of writing before drawing. My way of writing incorporates the layouts right from the beginning, staging scenes and set pieces as I go.

3. Please tell us about The Dragon Path (and any other titles you'd like to share about).


The original hook of The Dragon Path was the emotional bond between a young boy and a very large, misunderstood creature, and getting to explore the themes of found family through their bond. The world-building came after; like finding different puzzle pieces to fit the larger canvas. The bond between Prince Sing and Midnight was the anchor that held everything together, and knowing that any additional story elements had to work towards these two main characters.


As with many of my other books, I worked in the same formula: find the emotional engine, and build around it. Tell the story you want to tell first.


4. Where can we find more information about your work?


The easiest way to get updates from me is either on Twitter (https://twitter.com/POP_MYTH) or Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/popmyth/). As I'm currently a full-time character designer for Marvel Studios Animation, I'm stepping away from comic book work in the meantime, but you can still follow me as I post up fanart and personal illustrations.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page