top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with author Eden Royce



1. Please tell us about Root Magic (and any upcoming work you'd like to share about).


Root Magic is my debut novel, the first full-length book I’ve ever written. It’s a Southern Gothic tale that focuses on the Gullah Geechee people, traditions, and folklore I grew up with.


Set in 1963, Root Magic tells the story of Jez and Jay Turner, who have just lost their grandmother, the matriarch of their family. Even so, the local police deputy won’t stop harassing them. School integration has arrived in South Carolina, forcing Jez and Jay to begin the school year with a bunch of new kids. A short time later, the twins turn eleven and their uncle begins to teach them rootwork, the family ancestral folk magic. Learning this magic opens up a new world to them, revealing strange creatures and spirits and that some of the worst monsters are human.


As far as upcoming work, I just turned in the manuscript for a new middle-grade contemporary magical novel. But that’s all I can say at this point.


2. What drew you to write for middle grades readers?


I started my short story career writing for adult readers. But when it came to my first book, Root Magic, I wanted to write for middle grade readers because it’s important to start learning about cultures other than your own from an early age. Building empathy starts at an incredibly young age and I wanted to present my culture, which many people are unfamiliar with or have incorrect ideas about, with younger readers who were hopefully interested in learning about and sympathizing with characters who may have some differences from themselves.

Also, I wanted to give kids who are of a similar background to my own the opportunity to see characters like themselves on the page. It’s a special and affirming thing to experience.


3. What inspires you to work in the genres of fantasy and horror?


Mostly, my love of reading and watching both! It’s also nostalgic for me – it conjures up memories of watching old black and white horror movies and animated fantasy films with my mom and grandmom on Sunday afternoons on public television.


4. Any message you would share with young readers (particularly those who want to be authors)?


Looking at a blank page can be intimidating, but don’t be afraid to start writing. You don’t have to have any special equipment or app or guide or anything. Just start. Also know: you don’t have to show anyone your writing, if you don’t want to do that yet. It’s okay to write things for your own enjoyment until you’re ready to share your work with the world.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page