top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with comics creator Aurelio Mazzara


1. What initially drew you to comics? My passion for drawing has been born since I can remember. Even as a child I copied the drawings on toy boxes, such as Masters of the Universe, Bravestar Teenage Mutants Ninja Turtles, etc. Definitely, to have started my passion for comics was my father who, one Sunday, bought me an issue of Amazing Spider-Man. Since then I have never stopped buying comics and decided that, when I grew up, this, drawing comics, was going to be my job.

2. What do comics allow you to do as a creator?

I think there is no one thing that cannot be done with the comic media. It allows everyone to have a voice, to express themselves, to have no limits of expression. I recently had the opportunity to make my own first volume, as a complete author, VERSUS, published by Nukem Comics. With this volume, I had the opportunity to express myself, to be able to draw everything I love the most, from superheroes to the cinema from B to Z series, and the 90s saturday morning cartoons (especially Captain Planet).




3. Please tell us about your work on Skylanders, Starcadia Quest, as well as any other projects you'd like to share about.

A few years ago I had the opportunity to work at IDW, the first project was Skylanders, where I had the opportunity to work on the scripts of the great Ron Marz, then I achieved one of my nerdy dreams: to draw a comic about Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Later I draw for them the Starcadia Quest miniseries, wrote by James Roberts, based on the CMON game.

This job gave me the opportunity to work on other projects for CMON, all of them Marvel United. In addition, I draw some stories for Marvel, specifically Spider-Man 5 Minutes Story, Avengers Storybook Collection, World of Reading-This is Miles Morales, Marvel Joke book, Spider-Man-Mysterio Steal the Show, Avengers Head to Head, and Marvel Who's Who?

In addition to publishing projects, I had the great opportunity to work as a concept designer, on the film PG-Psycho Goreman, directed by Steven Kostansky (The Void, Father’s Day, Manborg, Bio-Cop) and the film in production, HELLBOT, directed by Junichi Yamamoto(Meatball Machine, Violator).

I recently started a collaboration with Lethal Comics, for which I made a few pages for the PG-Psycho Goreman Anthology, and the BMX Vampire project, currently in the works, and I'm also making anoother original comics, Deadly Brow , together with Junichi Yamamoto. One of my life-longest dream would be to work, one day soon, with one my favourite authors, Todd McFarlane.

4. Where can we find more information about your work?

You can find my work on Instagram , Twitter, and Artstation.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page