top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with comics creator Dawud Anyabwile


1. What initially drew you to comics?


That started when I was very young. This was circa 1972-1973. I was introduced to them by a neighbor when I was in the third grade and he was in the fifth. He hyped up these comics like they were printed in heaven and drawn by warrior angels or something like that, so I had to check them out, and when I went over his house, he introduced me to Thor, Iron Man, Daredevil, Conan, The Inhumans, etc. My mind was blown away! He and I would sit on our front steps and draw our own comics and write our own stories, and he always encouraged me and vice versa. He never said negative things about my art, and instead would add some wild ideas to make our stories better. That is my earliest thought to the introduction.


2. What does comic art allow you to do as a storyteller?


Well the main advantage is that you create images to take the reader into your world. They can see the character expressions and actions and although people like to visualize their own images when reading stories it’s still fun to see another persons artistic visualization of these adventures.



3. Please tell us about your process in adapting works to visual form (thinking about Kwame Alexander's work here, as well as Monster).


Each project is different; however, I start by reading the book at least twice, and then I slowly go through it, and draw the rough thumbnail storyboards, which are little sketches of the page layouts and storytelling through sequential images. I try to get as much input from the authors, and in many cases they may leave it up to me to interpret -- which is cool, too. When I do my own books, I am more free to just go off with whatever I want because there is no one to approve the actions but me and my team, if I happen to have one at the time.


4. Please tell us about Victory. Stand!: Raising My Fist for Justice and any other recent or upcoming work you'd like to mention.


Victory. Stand! is the most significant project I have ever taken on because I was honored to be chosen to be the illustrator to tell the story of the living legend Tommie Smith, the 1968 Olympic Gold medalist who raised his fist for justice and freedom for all those who did not have a voice. At the time he did that, he was living in very tumultuous times and he knew he was risking his career. Although he broke the record to become the fastest man in the world, he was not able to compete anymore after that gesture and he faced death threats as well as became unemployable to a lot of companies so It was very difficult for him for a long time. He eventually was re-instated into the Olympic Hall of Fame along with John Carlos who also stood on that Victory Stand and risked everything for all of us. That image is a world-renowned icon, which I was familiar with as a child yet I never would have fathomed that I would be the one to assist in telling his life story. I really enjoyed sitting down with Dr. Tommie Smith, and also traveling with him afterwards to do book signings because often we tell stories about our heroes or icons who have passed on but never get to eat with them, and laugh with them and this made my experience on this project and unforgettable one.





5. What is your message for young authors and artists?


I would say that you should do what you enjoy, don’t get sucked into the void of what others say is popular or what you should do. Your voice is your own. Even in this era of A.I. art, many artists are feeling down or depressed but I look at that just like looking at any incredible artist…they are not you. Only you can tell your story. There is always room for a new perspective and keep your head up and continuously learning. Your day to shine will come. I always say that there is no BEST only different. Be the best that you can be to yourself instead of trying to be the best in the industry because that can easily burn you out or depress you because the talent out here has always been phenomenal. In the meantime just enjoy the process and find what works for you. I call that Drawing From The Soul…Reaching inside and showing the world your vision. No one can steal what you feel.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page