top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with comics creator German Ponce

Updated: Sep 16, 2022





What initially drew you to comics?


When I was a kid Internet did not exist yet, in my home we only had a black and white tv, a radio AM and...good reads.


I learned to read when I was 4 years old because I desperately wanted to know about what happened in the stories of comics like Casper, Little Lulu, Tomb of Dracula, Batman, Superman, New Gods, Spiderman, or Hulk.


After that in my teenage years, I discovered the punk British comics of 2000AD like Judge Dredd, Robo Hunter, Rogue Trooper, Strontium Dog or ABC Warriors, and the underground or adult comics like Robert Crumb, Moebius, Juan Gimenez, Magnus or Liberatore, and that blew my mind.


After that, comic books became my entire life, a door beyond imagination and...I discovered that I can tell stories by drawing comics without a multimillionaire's budgets or a team of hundred people. Only paper, pencil, and ink.


I never had a choice for another profession or career. I breathe comic books, I talk comic books, I live comic books...am comic books.


2. What do comics allow you to do creatively?


Comic books allow me to express the dreams I have when I think in concepts. I can tell the story channeled in a way that I think can generate emotions and bring the same joy and happiness that I had when comic books save my life in very hard and sad moments of my life. That is because I take my job very seriously... I believe that my purpose in life is to provide entertainment, wonder, and dreams with the tools I use, and I play hard always, trying to be daring and bold, fearless of criticism, like the artists of the generations that preceded me and that made the industry great. Yeah, I know it sounds arrogant, but if you do not believe in yourself strongly in this business, you are dead.


3. Please tell us about Heavy Metal Magazine, Dark Wing, and any other titles/work you'd like to share about.


I was summoned to draw for Heavy Metal Magazine by Ricardo Lllarena around two years ago, with an exclusivity contract for two years, and the task was draw the space opera Dark Wing, written by Matthew Medney, and Cold Dead War, written by George C. Romero. I enjoy both stories, and I have a new project for Heavy Metal with the script on my table ( I am drawing the sketch pages right now), and I think I will be in the HM house for a good time because work with Joe Illidge ( The man is a legend!) is an entire pleasure, he understands me and gives me a lot of freedom to work. Before all that I draw many comics for independent companies, like the 12 Issue mini-series Foreign Matter written by my Canadian friend Martin John, Rebel with Sarah Spillane, and others. I've done many erotic comics, too, for the USA and Europe. Oh, and I spent more than 15 years drawing and painting illustrations for RPG games (Conan, Hawkmoon, Elric, Traveller, Judge Dredd, etc.), videogames, books, and novels, like Dragon Age for Dark Horse-Bioware. And I paint some trading cards for Fleer Ultra X-men and Marvel Flair for Upper Deck.


My first international gig (remember I live in Argentina) was erotic posters for SQP, circa 2002.




4. Where can we learn more about your work?


I am sure you will know more about me in the future because of my work, if I live long enough. I consider myself, today, as a newcomer in the industry despite having 20 years in the career of entertaining visual fields. I hope I can have the chance to draw a lot of comics and illustrations for my people, the ones who buy, read, and enjoy my work. I love them all strongly because they put the food on my table and allow me to be better and better every day. They should know I am here to give them the best of me. This is my way to make the world better, from my place in it.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page