top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with comics creator Rob De La Torre



1. What drew you to comics?


The storytelling, basically. Cinema, painting, music…we humans like to tell histories, and comics are a good way.


2. Please tell us about your creative process.


I focus a lot on expressiveness. I try to imagine what the character is feeling - if they are cold, hot, tired, euphoric, or if there's sarcasm in their eyes? In the same way, I work to give dynamism to the figures, and I think a lot about where the action comes from and where it goes.


3. You’ve worked with some very well-known characters and titles — any particularly positive experience you’d like to share about?


It has been and continues to be an honor to work with such iconic characters from modern popular history. I have grown up with the Warren comics, European comics/ magazines, the naughtiest 2D animation, and others. But by the early 2000s, all of that was already dying, so I had to adapt to the mainstream market of gods in pajamas who are here to save us unconditionally. A very good business, no doubt. But honestly, it's not my world. On the other hand, Conan is, because he is not politically correct and has the license of another more barbaric era.


4. Where can we find more information about your work?


Look for me on social media, Vimeo, Youtube….

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page