top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with comics creator Wilton Santos



1. What initially attracted you to comics? Wilton: I confess that my attraction was drawing, I didn't really care if it was comics or animation. I live in an undeveloped city called Itaquaquecetuba, in the state of São Paulo in Brazil. When I looked for a technical course that could teach me a little more about drawing, I only found something in a neighboring city that was a two-hour drive from my house, in the city of Mogi das Cruzes. There, I took drawing classes for comics, and that's where I can say that, at the age of 14, I decided what I wanted to work with. Before, I can only say that I wanted to draw, that this was what would make me happy.


1. O que inicialmente o atraiu para os quadrinhos?


Wilton: Confesso que a minha atração mesmo era desenhar, não me importava muito se seria comics, ou animação. Eu moro em uma cidade pouco desenvolvida chamada Itaquaquecetuba, do estado de São Paulo no Brasil. Quando procurei algum curso técnico que pudesse me ensinar um pouco mais sobre desenho, só fui encontrar alguma coisa em uma cidade vizinha que ficava a duas horas de viagem da minha casa, na cidade de Mogi das Cruzes, lá tive aulas de desenho para comics, e foi onde eu posso dizer que aos 14 anos de idade decidi com o que queria trabalhar, antes só sei dizer que queria desenhar, que isso era o que me faria feliz. 2. O que os quadrinhos permitem que você faça como criador?


Wilton: Isso depende muito, na grande maioria das vezes, os roteiristas e Editores são bem receptivos, e me deixam bem solto para criar e fazer escolhas, acho que ainda não trabalhei com nenhum roteiro muito fechado, eu acredito que se fossemos comparar com o cinema, o que eu faço seria um misto de codireção de fotografia, direção essa dividida com o colorist, inker e o lettering: e codireção onde o roteirista é além de diretor, o escalador de elenco e algumas vezes produtor executivo, e eu cuido dos cenários, figurinos, atuação, do peso que cada cena vai ter... Meu amigo e agente Joe Prado costuma dizer que Comics é uma arte colaborativa e eu concordo com ele, onde uma boa equipe costuma resultar em um bom trabalho quase sempre.

2. What do comics allow you to do as a creator? Wilton: It depends a lot, most of the time. The writers and editors are very receptive, and they leave me very free to create and make choices. I think I haven't worked with any very closed script yet, and I believe that if we were to compare with the cinema, what I do would be a mix of co-direction of photography, a direction that is shared with the colorist, inker, and lettering -- and co-direction where the screenwriter is in addition to the director, the casting director and sometimes executive producer, and I take care of the sets, costumes, acting, the weight that each scene will have...My friend and agent Joe Prado used to say that Comics is a collaborative art and I agree with him, where a good team usually results in a good work, almost always.



3. Please tell us about your work on Break Out, Doctor Aphra, and any other projects you would like to share. Wilton: Break Out is by far the work I've been most involved in to date. Zack invited me to the project at the very beginning I've been on it since the concept art, and it was a gift from Zachary Kaplan. I've never been so proud to be part of something, the editors are amazing. About Doctor Aphra, I confess that at the time I did it, I was going through a troubled moment in my life and I didn't really enjoy the process, but I really like the character, I love Star Wars ,and I would love to work on the franchise again. I have a personal story with the first issue I made of the Age of Republic series where I drew part of Obi-Wan's story, and the story I did takes place right after episode 1, which was the first movie I saw in the cinema. Despite the dubious quality of the movie, I have a certain affection for him, and drawing these characters made me really happy. I think I would have liked to do more things with them.


3. Por favor, conte-nos sobre seu trabalho em Break Out, Doctor Aphra e quaisquer outros projetos que você gostaria de compartilhar.


Wilton: Break Out é de longe o trabalho no qual mais me envolvi até hoje. O Zack me convidou para o projeto bem no inicio estou nele desde a o concept art, foi um presente do Zachary Kaplan, nuca tive tanto orgulho de fazer parte de algo, os editores são incríveis. Sobre Doctor Aphra, confesso que na época que fiz, estava passando por um momento conturbado na minha vida e não curti muito o processo, mas gosto muito da personagem adoro Star Wars e gostaria muito de voltar a trabalhar na franquia tenho uma historia pessoal com a primeira issue que fiz da serie Age of Republic onde desenhei parte da historia de Obi-Wan, e a historia que fiz, se passa logo após o episodio 1 que foi o primeiro filme que vi no cinema, e apesar da qualidade duvidosa do filme, eu tenho um certo carinho por ele, e desenhar esses personagens me fez muito feliz mesmo, acho que gostaria de ter feito mais coisas com eles.


4. Onde podemos encontrar mais informações sobre seu trabalho?


Wilton: A maioria das coisas que faço você vai encontrar no meu Instagram: @__wiltonsantos, mas você também me acha no Artstation: artstation.com/wiltonsantos e no Deviantart: deviantart.com/wiltonarts


4. Where can we find more information about your work? Wilton: Most of what I do you will find on my Instagram: @__wiltonsantos, but you can also find me on Artstation: artstation.com/wiltonsantos and on Deviantart: deviantart.com/wiltonarts








3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page