top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with Eduardo Paj



1. Please tell us about your creative process.


When I am reading a script, I start imagining the characters and the places where they are. The research is crucial for the creative process. If the characters are animals, I like to check different photographs of them at the Internet or in the books. Also, if the story is set at a certain period, I like to see what people looked like at this moment in history. Next, I sketch the main characters. I think this is the most important part of any creative process. Getting to know the characters is very important to me. Choosing the color pallet is the next step. The hour of the day, the season, even the temperature is something I consider when choosing colors. Finally, I put together the image. Deciding on the right perspective to make the scene more dramatic because I like to think about children's books in more a cinematic way. Everything is about the movement and energy. To finish, I add all necessary effects to make the environment more believable and natural.


2. What captures/inspires you in reading and creating?


Nature is one of my biggest inspirations. Going out and seeing the world is the most important thing. Also, the relationship between the script and the ideas one gets when reading it creates a real bond between two artists, the writer and the illustrator.


3. What is your message for young creators?


Persistence is the key word. If you want to pursue a career in this amazing field, you need to draw and create every single day. Your mind and your hands require exercise, and this is what makes you more and more skilled. I believe perseverance is most important when trying to achieve a goal.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page