top of page
Search
  • jddehartwriting

An Interview with MariNaomi




1. Please tell us your author/comics origin story.


I always wanted to be a novelist when I was a kid. When I was a teen, I got really into poetry, and even got a couple poems published. By adulthood, I was writing novels and trying to publish them, but quickly realized that the fantasy of being an author didn't match up to the reality of trying to get published. I couldn't handle the rejection! So I shelved that dream and dove into my day-job ambitions, which involved writing for video games. Around that time, I discovered underground comics--specifically autobio stuff by punk rock femmes. Inspired by Mary Fleener's short story, The Jelly, in 1997 I decided to make comics too, and in 1998, at the age of 25, I got my first comic published in the Action Girl Comics anthology. I enjoyed quietly making comics and zines until 2011, which was when my first graphic memoir was published by Harper Perennial. Suddenly, I had all these comics opportunities! I talked to my partner, who was also in the video games industry, and asked him if he'd rather be married to a well-off games writer or an impoverished cartoonist (the comics gigs didn't pay nearly as much as games), and he suggested I give comics as a career a go. And that's how I became an impoverished cartoonist!


2. What is your creative process like?


My creative process changes with each project. I think that's what's kept me going for so long: mixing it up. I've started with a synopsis and built up from there with one project, and with another I started with a visual and built upon that. Sometimes I'll start with a punchline, others I'll not know where it's going until I get there. I also love to play around with different kinds of pens, digital art, brushes, collage. I get bored easily if I just keep doing the same thing.


3. What is your message for young comics creators?


Don't let your peers discourage you from pursuing something you're passionate about. Keep your day job as long as you can--that way, you can keep doing the projects you love, and not have to answer to others. Practice often, take breaks, and read a ton. Be nice to people. Stretch your hands and take care of your body. You only have so many comics in you, so once you've got a handle on your craft (oh, maybe ten or so years into it), be real choosy about what projects you take. Most importantly, have fun!

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page